Is it just me, or does it seem that social media is littered with random “international days” that no one has ever heard of, or cares about? I get that people want an excuse to celebrate during their week in order to lighten the mood, however I think these made up days are quite foolish.

To name a few

After a quick Google search, and a visit to the UN’s (United Nations) official website, I have made a short list of what I consider to be the most ridiculous days.

  • March 21st: World Poetry Day
  • April 22nd: International Mother Earth Day
  • May 2nd: World Tuna Day
  • May 22nd: International Day Of Biological Diversity
  • September 27: World Tourism Day
  • November 19th: World Toilet Day

I wish this list was made up, considering how outrageous these days are. Does the UN really expect anyone to celebrate these days, am I expected to eat 5 pounds of Taco Bell on World Toilet Day? I don’t think so. Anyways, the reason I listed t1oy6v7hese is so that if I see any of them on my Facebook or Twitter feed, I will know to unfriend and block the person that felt the urge to share such abominations.

It makes you think

Who is the loser sitting around thinking of what day they will enlighten, or ruin next. Is some tool getting paid to pitch the idea of an International Finger Print on Cellphones Day? I almost wonder if the big social media corporations are advertising and pushing for people to post on these days in order to increase their traffic and income. It would not surprise me if this was the case, but I won’t lose sleep over it. The only thing I think these fake days are doing is reducing the importance of holidays actually worth celebrating like Christmas, and Birthdays.

After all, I wouldn’t say that i’m upset about this phenomena, I just find it to be incredibly stupid, and quite frankly a giant waste of time.

 

